Last visit was: It is currently 26/10/2014, 1:18


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with gnome-power-manager from voria repo
PostPosted: 29/08/2009, 10:13 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29/08/2009, 10:09
Posts: 2
Hi,

if I install the gnome-power-manger from the voria repo, Xorg uses 100% CPU if I am pulling the AC cord. With gnome-power-manger from the Ubuntu repo this problem is not there. Is there a problem with the package or do I have something misconfigured? Thanks for your help!

Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Problem with gnome-power-manager from voria repo
PostPosted: 29/08/2009, 13:56 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 12/02/2009, 18:08
Posts: 1377
Location: Italy
I'm sorry, I don't know what is causing your problem, but I'm pretty sure it can't be related to gnome-power-manager from my repository. The only difference in my gpm package is the removal of 2 patches which modified the way the steps are calculated when increasing/decreasing the brightness level.

_________________
Please consider a little donation to keep the 'Linux On My Samsung' project up and running. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Problem with gnome-power-manager from voria repo
PostPosted: 29/08/2009, 14:50 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29/08/2009, 10:09
Posts: 2
'voRia' pid='1843' dateline='1251550619' wrote:
I'm sorry, I don't know what is causing your problem, but I'm pretty sure it can't be related to gnome-power-manager from my repository. The only difference in my gpm package is the removal of 2 patches which modified the way the steps are calculated when increasing/decreasing the brightness level.


Hi, thank you for your answer.
That is strange. I am using a fresh install of Ubuntu Jaunty installed with the alternate cd with encrypted LVM. For testing I just installed KDE and after that, the error went away in Gnome. The error seems to have something to do with the OSD for the brightness and volume bar, because it only appears if I hit Fn + Fx.
Well, I can use my system now without that error, but I thought it might be useful to inform you about this ;-)

Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Problem with gnome-power-manager from voria repo
PostPosted: 08/09/2009, 19:44 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08/09/2009, 19:34
Posts: 6
Hi voRia,

first of all: thank you very much for your great repos.
Nevertheless, I would like to report the same problem as schellbach's: removing ac power leads the system to be unusable. Re-installing the original gnome-power-manager restores functionality.

Cheers,
Simon

'schellbach23' pid='1845' dateline='1251553834' wrote:
'voRia' pid='1843' dateline='1251550619' wrote:
I'm sorry, I don't know what is causing your problem, but I'm pretty sure it can't be related to gnome-power-manager from my repository. The only difference in my gpm package is the removal of 2 patches which modified the way the steps are calculated when increasing/decreasing the brightness level.


Hi, thank you for your answer.
That is strange. I am using a fresh install of Ubuntu Jaunty installed with the alternate cd with encrypted LVM. For testing I just installed KDE and after that, the error went away in Gnome. The error seems to have something to do with the OSD for the brightness and volume bar, because it only appears if I hit Fn + Fx.
Well, I can use my system now without that error, but I thought it might be useful to inform you about this ;-)

Daniel


Last edited by Nixus Maximus on 08/09/2009, 19:45, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Problem with gnome-power-manager from voria repo
PostPosted: 08/09/2009, 19:48 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 12/02/2009, 18:08
Posts: 1377
Location: Italy
Ok thanks for the report, i'll take a deeper look at the gpm package.

_________________
Please consider a little donation to keep the 'Linux On My Samsung' project up and running. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki