Last visit was: It is currently 21/10/2014, 12:58


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 04/05/2009, 0:18 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02/05/2009, 1:37
Posts: 30
Ive read somewhere that the NC10 has a multitouch touchpad, but i cant get it to work on archlinux... any tips? or is it just a normal touchpad?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 04/05/2009, 12:58 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14/03/2009, 21:59
Posts: 30
I never tested that on WinXP. On Linux, the synaptics driver reports it as NOT multitouch capable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 05/05/2009, 18:49 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 12/02/2009, 18:08
Posts: 1377
Location: Italy
I'm starting to think that the touchpad does not have a real multitouch support.

_________________
Please consider a little donation to keep the 'Linux On My Samsung' project up and running. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 05/05/2009, 22:14 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/05/2009, 20:51
Posts: 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wvllyk7Upjg

Hi,
well, the nc10 seems to have a multitouch touchpad. i think that in the youvid above shows windows vista, but dont know. i will check that out under ubuntu/archlinux next days, maybe it will work with linux.

bye

martin z.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 08/05/2009, 9:39 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02/05/2009, 1:37
Posts: 30
The Video shows Windows 7....

It runs nice on the NC10, performance-wise, but it sucks, because it is windows and it is worse then vista :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 01/06/2009, 4:44 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 01/06/2009, 4:30
Posts: 5
the Synaptics touchpad DOES support multitouch! at least somehow: on windows xp, i use TwoFingerScroll all the time. it doesn't add much multitouch functionality as the name suggests, but you will love it.

it's much easier to use the whole (still small) touchpad to scroll (with two fingers) because the normal scroll area on the right side of the touchpad is hard to find without looking at it (there is almost no gap between the case and the touchpad).

it needed a little fine-tuning because apparently opera's scrolling works in another way than firefox' does.

i would love to see twofingerscroll for linux!
edit: i just found out that it should already work but doesn't.
you can check if it is enabled with
synclient -l | grep TwoFinger
Code:
sk@sk-nc10:~$ synclient -l | grep TwoFinger
    EmulateTwoFingerMinZ    = 280
    VertTwoFingerScroll     = 1
    HorizTwoFingerScroll    = 0

with symclient -m 50 you will see it doesn't recognize two fingers (the "f" column represents the number of fingers)


Last edited by sk_ on 01/06/2009, 4:59, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 01/06/2009, 20:00 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02/05/2009, 1:37
Posts: 30
i know that synaptics supports multitouch, it works on my macbook.... but on the NC10... i cant get it to work :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 02/06/2009, 8:52 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2009, 9:00
Posts: 37
The next linux kernel has got patch on multitouch input support. Do not know (and understand) if that could bring multitouch support to the NC10's touchpad.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 02/06/2009, 13:52 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02/05/2009, 1:37
Posts: 30
next? 2.6.30?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 03/06/2009, 5:46 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2009, 9:00
Posts: 37
'summel' pid='1359' dateline='1243947178' wrote:
next? 2.6.30?


Yes... Do not remember where I have read the description.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 03/06/2009, 15:47 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02/05/2009, 1:37
Posts: 30
'FabriceV' pid='1363' dateline='1244004383' wrote:
'summel' pid='1359' dateline='1243947178' wrote:
next? 2.6.30?


Yes... Do not remember where I have read the description.



hmmm ok... we'll see in a few days then :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 06/06/2009, 11:22 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2009, 9:00
Posts: 37
This is the site (The H Open; The kernel log post date 1 june) with a link to the patches (look at Notebooks and input devices). I have not seen where is the short permalink...

http://www.h-online.com/open/Kernel-Log ... ews/113426


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 12/06/2009, 10:53 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2009, 9:00
Posts: 37
Apparently multitouch is a work in progress... And already possible but experimental. See the link for details.
http://www.lii-enac.fr/en/projects/shareit/linux.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 28/08/2009, 17:58 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 28/08/2009, 15:10
Posts: 7
I really don't care about two finger scroll; I just want two-finger paste (middle mouse button). I'm used to this working out of the box on other laptops.

Now from what I've read on other forums the NC10 SE does not have multitouch. I don't have the SE, just the regular NC10. I have been able to get multitouch working on Windows.

However, when I look in dmesg, I see this:

Code:
$ dmesg | grep Synaptics
[   13.848255] Synaptics Touchpad, model: 1, fw: 7.2, id: 0x1c0b1, caps: 0xd04731/0xa40000


It's the cap bits that I'm interested in. According to the "touchpad interfacing guide" (you can find this on the synaptics website), the bit for capMultiFinger is bit 1 of byte 3:

Code:
irb(main):002:0> byte3 = 0xd04731 & 0xff
=> 49
irb(main):003:0> (byte3 >> 1) & 1
=> 0


which as best I can tell means the hardware does not support multifinger.

Two possibilities as I see it:

1) The newest synaptics hardware does not support multifinger through the same documented interface as the old hardware
2) The hardware does not support multifinger and is being emulated somehow on Windows.

I am curious about the bit after the '/'. Those are the capabilities from the extended query (0x09). Multiple (more than 4) button support is in byte 2 (bits 14..12), but I don't know what the 0xa4 in byte 1 is supposed to represent. Maybe it is for multitouch?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Multitouch?
PostPosted: 28/08/2009, 20:51 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2009, 9:00
Posts: 37
Opensuse seems to provide a more complete preference window. Is it into Karmic?
http://lizards.opensuse.org/2009/08/27/ ... k-11-2-m6/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki